top of page

Concept as Art Layout

We were given lyrics from Oceans by Hillsong and asked to pick out words that stood out to make a poster. I chose a series of six different phrases, creating thumbnails for each.

I wanted to create visual representation of what each phrase was saying, as well as work the words into the design. I didn't want the words to just be there on the picture -- I wanted them to be essential to the message being shared. I decided on the phrase "trust is without borders." I felt that this phrase was the most powerful and I could learn the most from creating this poster.

I started by tracing a picture of a world map. I then added the text, fighting for quite some time to get the "O" to go behind the illustration. I learned how to merge the paths together in order to restore the original transparent white space in the background, and then moved the "O" layer backward to where it now sits. I added a black border over the illustration to add depth and symbolism to the message. Ideally, in the future, I will continue to create posters like this in my free time.

bottom of page