top of page

Interpretation: Translation of Life (Ch. 3)

Created in the image of a Creator God. This is a powerful reality. But how much do I truly believe that? As I have begun to reflect on my personal relationship with art and creating in the opening chapters of this book, I have realized that I have believed a false narrative for a long time. As McManus says in a later chapter, it takes strength and courage to create. Creating and imagining is an inherently daring act. But in order to do this, we first must acknowledge the false narratives we have believed for so long. We must confront the voice, the narrative that guides us. “We must never allow ourselves to believe that we are the sum total of our experiences.” Our experiences are meant to guide and shape us, never control us.



And yet, in my reflection on this subject, I let myself be controlled by my own type A personality. I wrote that I have trouble letting go, allowing myself to be fully creative. While this is true, I cannot let this shape me forever. I refuse to let this be an excuse as to why I cannot create. In fact, after this realization, I promptly began an art journal. While it is still just beginning, it is messy and disorganized, and honestly, it scares me. It makes me uncomfortable. But it also makes me feel free. I know it is a safe space to practice creating, and so I will challenge myself to go back to it, no matter how uncomfortable that may be. I will not continue to live shaped by the experiences that led me to believe I was not creative.

bottom of page